South Shore

I feel so lucky looking back on my time out east, thinking about all the amazing places I got to travel to and see.

On the Sunday of my first weekend, I joined the same friends for a trip to the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Our two locations for that day were Peggy’s Cove and Lunenburg.

Peggy’s Cove is something I got to experience last September for the first time, and I have to say that I found it just as breathtaking the second time around. On this particular day, the waves were not breaking far up the rocks as they are known to, so we were able to venture quite far down the rocks. (Something I would NOT recommend doing when the waves are high, for fear of being swept out into the ocean).
There is something so serene about this place. You do have to remember that it is a large tourist attraction, and so that may take away from the beauty when there are hundreds of people around you taking photos. However, if you venture off far enough on the rocks, take a seat and enjoy the views, it is something you will not regret. If you’re lucky, you may even spot a whale like my friends did that day!
It really is one of my favourite places in Nova Scotia.

I also have to mention the lobster shack we stopped at maybe 3 km away from Peggy’s Cove, called the “Fisherman’s Corner”. Here we had fresh lobster rolls brought in by the local fisherman. Definitely treat yourself if you’re there!

As we continued along the coast towards Lunenburg, we got to experience more of the natural beauty of this province, and enjoy the sunny day with the coastal water on our side. If you drive around Nova Scotia, chances are you will see many lobster traps lying around or in the water. This trip had plenty of them, and buoys too!

Once we reached Lunenburg we spent the rest of our time walking around the beautiful town. Lunenburg is designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is also the docking ground for the Bluenose II. It is a quaint little town with brightly coloured houses and shops, all facing the water on a slight downward slope. It does not take long to walk around this town, but if you have the chance, take some time to explore the cute little boutiques that line the streets. Unfortunately, that day most of the stores in town were closed due to the impending holiday, but even peeking inside you could see bountiful treasures!

Of course now I will mention food… SCALLOPS! The absolute BEST TASTING SCALLOPS I have ever had, are located in Lunenburg. That night we had dinner at the Grand Banker Bar and Grill, located on the first street by the water. I had pan-seared scallops in butter and am literally salivating at the thought of them right now. Definitely recommend going there for some seafood!

All in all, the first weekend out east was proving to me that I had made the right choice in moving out there.

More adventures to come!

~ Banana

PS. I will add photos soon!

Leave a Reply

