“I travel a lot; I hate having my life disrupted by routine.”

I am almost at the end of my 3rd week in Rome, something I am having trouble wrapping my head around. Work has been great so far – I feel as though I am learning a great deal and I am having so much fun. The longer I am here, the more comfortable I am with my surroundings, and being alone in a foreign country ain’t turning out to be so bad! I have perfected my morning routine of taking the Tram, then train, then walking to the office… on time. Still getting the best wakeup calls a girl could ask for.

As Sway put it (photo credit) “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Banana”

I have continued to branch out and meet people.  My multicultural group of friends now includes 3 Dutch people, 4 Germans, many local Italians, people from Canada, the United States, Australia, England, and probably tons more that I am forgetting. It is so amazing to have such a diverse group of friends. Most of us also got to network at a beach party last Saturday, which was pretty awesome. Within minutes of getting there 2 of the people I met, and myself were able to connect that we had a mutual friend (he goes to university with me, and he went to international school with them in Rome). Being here has made me realize it really is a TINY world. Now I will have places to stay when I go travel ;) Aside from that day being such a great time with new friends, I got a terrible sunburn after forgetting to put some of the sunscreen (that I had bought that morning) on my back. You win some, you lose some.

Just enjoying the sun, sand and surf

That night I made it out to the bars for the first time as well. The spaces are tiny, meant only to hold enough people that are in for a refill. Not many tables, and definitely no sitting space. We went to a place called Bar del Figo, a very chilled out space playing hip hop tunes. The bartenders at this place were pretty cool too. I guess it lives up to its name – Figo, in Italian, means cool.

Sunday, I took an impromptu trip to Circeo, a city to the south of Italy. My supervisor and a few colleagues enjoyed an incredible seafood meal in the cosy little town before heading back home. Needless to say after this weekend, I was exhausted. A little too much sun!

 

This week is going by quite fast. I am still working hard, and the work hours seem to slip by unnoticed. I have to say that one of my favourite nights so far was yesterday, when my friend Sway and I grabbed pizza from Dar Poeta – a somewhat famous pizza place – and then sat in (my new friend) Chris’s bar Antico Café while we ate. **In Trastevere, however, there are about 3 Antico Café’s as you walk down the same street, so I’ll be sure to give the street intersection next time for those who’d want to visit!**   Sway has also managed to persuade me to join a basketball league. Tonight is my first game, which will be some fun.

I think that now my blog is up to date, so family and friends, hope you enjoy it. Miss you all!

 

 

~ Banana

Leave a Reply

